The Diponegoro University Library has been initiated since the establishment of Semarang University, which later became Diponegoro University, with the following developments: In 1960, the Library was established, occupying a room on the Undip Campus Jl. MT Haryono, Semarang, with a total collection of ± 500 copies, especially books on law. In 1962, the Library moved to the Pleburan campus and occupied 1 (one) room at the Faculty of Law.

In 1970, the Library was moved into an adequate room with an area of ​​± 200m2 consisting of 3 (three) rooms. 1979 was a new history for the Diponegoro University Library because it occupied its 3-floor library building with an area of ​​± 3,000m2, inaugurated by the Minister of Education and Culture, Dr. Daoed Joeseop. In 1997, Simultaneously with the move of the Undip campus from Pleburan to the new Tembalang Campus, the Library occupied one of the Widya Puraya Building locations with a 5 () floor building with an area of ​​approximately 6.125m2.